The Blue Destiny Project: MG Blue Destiny Conversion Kit 1/100

Okay, so here’s the back story:
Several years back, I had bought the MG Ground GM and Ez8 with the sole purpose of converting both kits – the Ez8 to the Ez8 High Mobility Custom (as seen in SD Gundam) and I purchased from a knock-off B Club dealer, the Blue Destiny Resin conversion kit for the Ground GM.   The Ez8 was my first customize kit, which I’ll post on later.  It turned out alright considering it was my first attempt.

But here’s the thing with Knock-Off (copied) resin kits, they don’t use the same quality resin as the originals.  That’s why you get the kit for a fraction of the cost.  But you end up getting what you pay for.  Most of the time, there is warping of the pieces, flash from the mold in the worst spots, or just plain “mutated” pieces.  Luckily, the dealer I went through sold pretty decent replicas, so the BD Kit was in pretty good shape.  But, as it would happen, I was still hand painting my kits back then…so…the end result was this:

IMG_0322Not too terrible, but not great either.  Over all, pretty “Meh”.

IMG_0318I know…he’s missing a hand.  That’s because what I ended up finding out was that the resin slots for the leg polycaps and the center waist double joint were just poorly molded and wouldn’t support the weight of the top half of the MS.  He fell so many times, that eventually, the center joint broke, the Machine Gun broke in two places (which was odd) and eventually I just had enough.  Blue went into storage.

….then I finished the S Gundam.  And found that I didn’t have any grey paints to get cracking on the Z Plus, so I took a look at my storage and came across Blue all broken and put away….and I thought “Hmmm…..maybe….”

So I went online, looked at a few pictures of the Blue Destiny from various sources and decided I’d take another shot at it.

I decided to go with a very light blue for the limbs.  So light, that I decided to call it “Anime Colors” as I figure this is what it would look like if Blue Destiny was animated.

IMG_0323I basically reworked the whole thing…to an extent.  I still cringe at that “triangle” decal that is basically hand painted on the chest.  But I used a special putty to seal and secure the double jointed torso, adding a ton of stability.

IMG_0325I also replaced all the barrels of the chest and head vulcans with copper piping, added a little detail to the main visor camera, cleaned up the excess florescent red areas in the cameras and added a few Katoki-esque decals.   The machine gun is actually the GFF 1/144 Mudrock’s machine gun, but for some reason, the scale seemed right, so it fits as an adequate replacement.

I’m not done at this point, but I’ve reached a dead-end.  I ordered custom Blue Destiny Decals from Samuel Decal – a great source for those looking to add a bit more design to their kits.  I plan on getting rid of that god awful chest “triangle”, adding the Exam System decals, EF Army lettering, and I may just repaint the entire torso and clean it up a bit.

So there we go.  In the meantime, while I wait for those decals, I’ll be running to the hobby store to grab some new bottles of grey for the Z Plus.  I’ve also decided on doing a custom color scheme for the MG Strike, but that’s a ways off.

Until then – Jaa~

9 responses to “The Blue Destiny Project: MG Blue Destiny Conversion Kit 1/100

  1. Blue Destiny Unit 1 is surely an interesting MS – it feels like it’s just between a GM and a Gundam in terms of appearance, similar to that of EZ-8.

    It’s not common to kits getting converted due to the fact that the resin kits are usually really really expensive (e.g. those from B-Club), so it’s nice to see how your Blue Destiny is done there. Only seen a completed sample in a local shop but somehow the modeller used a RX-78 as the base rather than the Ground Type GM so it was less accurate. I look forward to see it getting ‘revived’ from a dead end project as it is a very nice and unique unit from the OYW period!

  2. I like d anime colours^^

    I saw a conversion kit for freedom into calamity and it was more expensive than the freedom itself o.O

    where did you get these knock off conversion kits?

  3. @Q – Yep, it sure is Q, When I finish the project I’ll give some more information about the MS itself for those who aren’t aware of the story. The conversion kit actually allowed you to build either BD 1 2, or 3. All of which really need the RX-79 or RGM-79 G bases though. I don’t know what the RX-78 use would result in. I just received the confirmation order from Samuel Decal, so hopefully this will be done soon!

    @AstrayP03 – Thanks! I like them too. Yes, even the knock offs will run roughly the same amount as a MG kit, but the true kits run about 2x to 3x as much. I would like to see that Calamity conversion though! You can check places like Ebay or once in a while Hobby Link Japan (hlj.com) will have some in stock.

  4. Heheh, I thought when you mean MG B.D. convertion(Which you happen to list last post). Anyway despite looking ancient it great. Are blue Destiny conversion kits still in production?

  5. Sorry about the confusion, what did you think I was going to post on?

    I believe you can still find them once in a while through ebay and the sorts. The original, B Club releases are not in production, but you probably can find some knock-offs still.

  6. Aptkane, Great work with the conversion. :thumbsup:

    I was also looking for Blue-Destiny conversion before but found it expensive and put off by the price. Then I thought of doing my own mod from a GM but lack the skills to pull it off.

    It’s rather unfortunate not to see the BD release in MG line and also to see the manga end in one volume, without the full story being told. 😦

  7. Thanks Jacques! I’ve actually decided to re-do the whole thing too, so once those decals show up, I’ll finish the second half of the restoration.

    I agree, I don’t really build the HGUC kits, but I know they released all three in that line. Still, I would love to see a true MG come out.

    I know, I have the manga vol. 1, and was looking forward to seeing the rest of the story, but I guess, I’ll just have to relay on SD Gundam…oh well.

  8. BD does seem to be quite interesting. Haven’t played the games or read the manga related to it, but kinda knew how it the story is in general.

    Now if an Ifreet Custom exists to go with it then I’m happy!

  9. Yeah, I know Q, the Ifreet is a cool MS, for sure! I’ll give a synapses when I’m done with the restoration.

Leave a Reply

