Gundam Double X Project

dXOkay, so this is just the SD version..but still awesome.

First, let me just state for the record, Gundam X has a pretty special place in my heart.  0083 was the first actual anime of Gundam I watched, but I had the English Dubbed (Bleh) VHS tapes.  Meh.  Gundam X was the first complete DVD set, In Japanese that I ever owned, and to date I’ve watched it through probably 10 times.  Sure the story gets a little cloudy during the second half, but I still love the series and I feel it gets a bum rap just because it was aired at 6am in Japan when it was released.

More importantly, my very first Gunpla kit ever built was the 1/144 scale Gundam Leopard (followed, the very next day, after a lot of begging to my parents, by the 1/144 scale Leopard Destroy).  So again, Gundam X has, as I said, a very special place in my heart.

That being said, I can still remember the first time I saw the Double X in the show.  After a few episodes of anticipation as to why Garrod and Tifa spotted the satellite laser appear across the ocean, the Double X is exposed and I remember my jaw dropped.  It was, as my buddy Chris gives me so much crap for saying, A Magnificent Machine.  I couldn’t see enough of it in action.  The Black and white color scheme, the double satellite cannons, I was hooked.  And to this day, the Double X ranks in my top three favorite Gundams.

So, I’m going to focus all my efforts and skill on my 1/100 scale HG Gundam Double X kit.  I have the decals from Samuel Decal – which will add just that much more greatness to the mobile suit, and I’m going to incorporate every skill in Gunpla Modeling I know for this one.  I’ll keep you posted –

Jaa!

4 responses to “Gundam Double X Project

  1. 0083 was also my first gundam series ^^. I seldom see works being done on Gundam X series, don’t understand why its not as popular as the other series. Looking forward to your next post.

  2. I would love to see a MG release of one of them, but I guess that’s not going to happen. Just a pure shame.

  3. Double X was my first gundam last 1999. I remember everyone having a Wing Zero but what I got as a present was the double X, first I was kinda sad because like my peers I wanted a Wing Zero but turns out it was a fine model, and now ten years after, I am trying to rebuild the Double X.

Leave a Reply

