Complete: HG 1/100 GX-9901 Gundam Double X

Well, the Double X is complete.

IMG_0368

Now, considering the quality of the kit (knock off), and the extensive modifications done, I’d say over all, I’m very pleased with the final result.

IMG_0385IMG_0369IMG_0370IMG_0371IMG_0383

I ended up using the Beam Machine gun from the X Divider kit I had started (but couldn’t finish because I ended up accidentally throwing away some part panels).  This worked out seems the beam rifle that came with the kit was impossible to fix and make look right.

IMG_0375IMG_0372IMG_0381I used Samuel Decal for the markings.  They worked out awesome.  I’m very happy with them.

So that’s if for now.  I have to figure out what I’m going to build next, the MG Aile Strike Gundam or the Albion….or continue with the Blue Destiny.

Until Next Time –

Jaa –

IMG_0373

9 responses to “Complete: HG 1/100 GX-9901 Gundam Double X

  1. @Aptkane,

    congrarts on your completion of Gundam DX. Looks great and the decals are really goof. Do you plan to submit this for the Bandai World Gunpla Competition?

  2. Thanks Guys –

    @Jacques – We’ll see, I’ve been thinking about it. Either the DX or the S, I’d like to submit something.

    @Zircor – Keep me posted, I’d be thrilled to see the results!

  3. So the MG joints have integrated well onto your DX then? Good to see that you have got it done I have to say! Btw what are those screws on the shoulders? Would that be for the joints?

    Really like the decals too, and good job getting it tuned up in general! Would like to see you working on Blue Destiny again but take your time on it!

  4. Thanks Q! They did, although it really stretched my ability to modify a kit to the max. They are screws, in the end, it was the only way I could attach the shoulder armor to the new MG shoulder, they are small enough to fasten the armor onto the inner panel, without hindering the movement of the shoulder joint, and it also allows for the shoulder sensors to still slide up into position when the satellite cannons are deployed. I just wish I would have had a couple of single slot, bolt screws.

    I was actually gearing up to work on the MG Aile Strike, but I want to get the Blue Destiny done too. I’m going to the hobby store today to get paint, so we’ll see.

  5. If based on the pictures alone I couldn’t tell if its a knockoff till you mentioned it! Kudos for getting a knock off to look like that ^^. Awesome work, and first time seeing screws for detailing, never thought of that lol!

  6. Hey thanks CB – those screws not only serve as detailing, but are functional as well seems they were the only thing I could use to attach the shoulder armor.

  7. Hey mate, i have only one thing to say to you. You are a champion. That is top stuff right there! I plan on making mines as well, which has been sitting inside its box on my shelf for over 4 years. Respect* You are the man.

  8. Thanks Panda! Of course, humility insists I point out my mistakes to myself on a daily basis with my completed works, but I’m glad you like how the Double X turned out – given that its one of my all time favorite Mobile Suits, I’m very happy with it as well.

    Thanks for posting!

Leave a Reply

