PG RX-78-3 “G3” Project

Well, I’ve been quite busy lately with work, but I’ve been also steadily working on my PG Gundam project.  I decided a while back that, seems I lack the sufficient skills to modify the parts, I’m going to re-paint/revamp my PG Gundam from the Prototype Gundam to the G3 Gundam.

Of course all that’s done for the moment is the inner frame:

I used German Grey for the Dark areas

Tamiya Metallic Blue for the thrusters

Metal Screws and Bolts are from MechaSkunk

So that’s all for now – I’ll be starting the rest of the armor panels this week, and thanks to my new dual action airbrush, that should be pretty darn easy.

So that’s all for now – more to come –
Also in the que is the GP Gundam project (all 4 GP Gundams) –

Jaa –

7 responses to “PG RX-78-3 “G3” Project

  1. Yes, I have to admit, I have an unhealthy attraction to my new airbrush – she works absolute WONDERS with thinned tamiya paints (except copper for some reason…) – I Love it.

  2. Wow you’re repainting your Prototype Gundam to G-3? Almost thought you got another PG RX-78-2 to have a G-3 next to RX-78-1 side by side!

    Like the metallic blue thrusters~ German grey for the darker parts? That’s quite a dark colour if that is the same colour as Feldgrau used in early WWII, but I guess you’re doing a two-toine scheme for the G-3. Man G-3’s colour scheme is never consistent. Some gunpla had them white and purple-grey, some had just plain grey, or some other combinations. Looking forward to see how your repaint will turn out though!

  3. Thanks buddy – Yes, German Grey is very dark, but really I’m aiming to have the color scheme resemble that of the 1/100 GFF G3 Gundam (try a google image search to see what I’m talking about) – you’re right, the G3 scheme changes quite a bit – but I believe that has to do with the vagueness of its origin which was in the novel stating only that the colors were changed to grey so it was left to a lot of interpretation.

    Glad you like the thrusters, I’m very happy with how they turned out!

Leave a Reply

