Delays, Second Update

Well, the Formula 409 effectively stripped the botched paint job all the way down to the primer (and even began softening the primer as well) – for those of you who don’t know, you can use formula 409 to strip acrylic paint off a gunpla kit safely because while it tears through the acrylic paint like paper, it doesn’t affect the plastic at all.

So no, I’ll have to re-prime the parts a bit, then hit my local hobby store for some more paint.  I should elaborate on my Tamiya experience….you see – I LOVE Tamiya paints, while the color selection is a bit limited, the paint itself is cheap, but works very very well and is easy to airbrush with.  Furthermore, I also really like Tamiya primer, goes on very smooth and level.  I’m starting to suspect the can of Tamiya gloss coat, may not have actually been a coat at all…my Kanji is very poor, so I’m not able to translate the label 100%

Either way, I’m trying out Gundam Guy Infinate and ordered a can of Mr. Super Clear (which I know for a fact, works great) as well as some detail parts (lense/Mono Eyes) to see if GG would be a better option for purchasing Gunpla stuff.

Also, I believe I’m going to hold off on the GP04 and possibly build a GM after the GP01 so I can get a bit more practice in on this panel line washing before I attempt the GP04…I would be miserable if I botched up that kit.

Later –

5 responses to “Delays, Second Update

  1. You might have to ask your local hobby store manager to order some Tom, my Hobby Town usually keeps Tamiya products in stock, which is nice!

  2. Hi, I came across your site and wasn’t able to get an email address to contact you. Would you please consider adding a link to my website on your page. Please email me back and we’ll talk about it.

    Thanks!

    Joel Houston
    JHouston791@gmail.com

  3. Hey if you need help on Japanese translation (e.g. the text on the Tamiya cans) please do let one of us know; I’m sure we would be more than happy to help you out!

  4. @Q – thanks buddy, I appreciate that. My wife’s back from the Philippines so she’s usually my go-to source for translations 🙂

    I ended up ordering a can of Mr. Super Clear anyway, so it should be fine now. Gundam Guy’s shop is pretty awesome about shipping fees, so that’s great.

Leave a Reply

