GP04 Update and New Super Loots!

I’m heading out of town tonight for a few days, but I wanted to post an update.  This is going to be in two parts.

Part one – Super Loots

I went a little over board but I couldn’t pass up a bunch of deals.

  Okay, there’s a lot in this picture, so lets start with the bottom –

G System’s 1/60 Scale Resin Cast Gundam Alex.  I bought this kit from an acquaintance on the Fichten Foo forums.   I got it for a great great deal seems the original kit is out of production and runs nearly $400 USD, and I got mine for $250.   Its a beast though and will take me a VERY long time I think.   Still, the kit includes a great inner frame like that of the Real Grade line from Bandai.  I will likely just work on sections while I work on other projects.

Speaking of Real Grade – Hobby Link Japan had a sale and I picked up the RG 1/144 Char’s Zaku II for like 20 bucks.  I don’t normally build 1/144 scale, but I had to try one of these guys out, and so far, its pretty awesome.  I have the inner frame built already.  The pose ability is simply amazing.  Far better than even the early Perfect Grade kits!

I also picked up some detailing parts for several projects.  Hi-Q parts are pretty fantastic, and Mochi’s store has such a great selection, with Unbeatable prices!  If you like adding metal upgrade parts to your kits, definitely check his store out!

Finally, my new panel lining technique has been quite difficult getting the hang of – brushing on India ink just doesn’t turn out like I want it too – so I picked up a full set of Koh-i-noor Tech Pens.   They uses India Ink but have tips far thinner than even the thinnest Gundam Marker – so I’ll test them out on the Zaku (though I likely won’t paint the Zaku….)

So all in all, that’s like $400 bucks in Gundam stuff, but I’m super happy with what I got my hands on for this.  Now I just need Tamiya paints to be restocked so I can get back to work on the GP04.

Part 2 – Gpo4 Long rifle

Well the Long rifle is done.

 

I wanted to make sure the inverted handle/grip was included in on the set up –

I used a metal upgrade Beam rifle tip, painted in clear “Smoke” by Tamiya to try and get a black carbon look.  I also used an upgrade lens for the sensor:

I had a lot of trouble with the paint, I used Testor’s Master Acrylic, which I have stopped using entirely because 1.) it dries into a strange, latex-y like film, and 2.) nearly gooped up my new Airbrush.  So I’m just going to wait until Tamiya is restocked before I work on the GP04 any further.  In the meantime, I’ll work on the RG Char’s Zaku.

 

That’s all for now, more to come!

 

Matta ne~

4 responses to “GP04 Update and New Super Loots!

  1. Well thanks my Friend, I appreciate the feed back! I really am not that pleased with how it turned out, but I tried to repair my slight sanding mistakes as best i could.

  2. That rifle looks amazing! :O
    And nice loots. My Model Master paints is not as watery as my Tamiya paints now.

  3. Thanks Tom – I just don’t get Model Master..the paint is just so thick when it dries and I don’t want to risk getting my new airbrush all gooped up.

Leave a Reply

